Good Hart is a very small town located on M-119, a scenic heritage route referred to as the Tunnel of Trees, in Northern Michigan. Nestled along a portion of scenic highway snaking its way around the curves and turns of Lake Michigan. The area’s natural beauty includes the Lake Michigan shoreline, sand dunes, inland lakes and coastal wetlands. This unique region is home to state parks and forests and more than 25 publicly accessible preserves. Travelers along Lake Shore Drive will come across the Good Hart General Store situated steps from the scenic roadway. Visitors will enjoy homemade baked goods, fresh jams & preserves, a delicious selection of prepared foods, and a dizzying assortment of the area’s finest tees & sweats. Good Hart is an unincorporated community in the township on the shore of Lake Michigan at 45°34′02″N 85°06′48″W. It is on M-119 about 13 miles north of Harbor Springs and eight miles south of Cross Village.
This was a center of Ojibwe settlement under the leadership of Joseph Black Hawk and his brother Good Heart in the early 19th-century. Indians knew the area as Crooked Tree. In 1741, Jesuits established a mission to the Native Americans and it was known as Apatawaaing. By 1823, the Jesuits had built the first structure here and the area was known as Middle Village. St. Ignatius Church church was destroyed by fire in 1889 then rebuilt. The area around what is now Good Hart has been an Odawa village (formerly known as Wa-Ga-Nak-A-Sa or Middle Village) since at least the 1700s. In 1741, a Roman Catholic chapel was established at this location in a bark longhouse. The first structure was replaced by a more substantial version, dedicated by Father Frederic Baraga, in 1833. That church was destroyed by fire on Easter Sunday, April 21, 1889. Bishop Frederic Baraga dedicated the first church on the site of the present St. Ignatius of Loyola-Good Hart parish. The first church on this site was dedicated on August 1st, 1833 though the first Jesuits came to the area in the 1740s. The present church was constructed in 1889 to replace one destroyed by fire in that same year. The current church is open seasonally and led by Father James Bearss. Construction immediately began on the current church as a replacement. Father Servatius Altmicks from Harbor Springs hired a local carpenter to manage the construction, and much of the work was done by the local Odawa. The new church was dedicated by Rt. Reverend Bishop Richter on September 13, 1889. The church has undergone a substantial restoration and is open to the public for Sunday mass in July and August, and for weddings and funerals. It is one of the four churches making up the Catholic community of L’Arbre Croche.
Saint Ignatius Church and Cemetery is a historic church and cemetery at 101 N. Lamkin Road in Good Hart, Michigan, USA. The church was added to the Michigan Historical Register in 1976 and the National Register of Historic Places in 2007.